The Sketchbook Series – The vernacular architecture of Wales by Pete Monaghan SGFA

Chester, Eastgate Street

Chester, Eastgate Street

“Sketching has always formed an integral part of my working process.

Top House, Talybont

Top House, Talybont

My motifs are mostly buildings. I’m interested in man’s influence on the landscape, especially vernacular architecture.

A rapid on-site sketch is better than a photo as a record of what I have seen and what interested me. I guess that’s because of the selective process that goes on, conscious or not, whilst I’m sketching.

Du Bist Gut

Du Bist Gut

I try to use my sketchbooks as a working record of thoughts and memories, rather than treat them as anything too precious. My daughters draw in my sketchbooks if they’re with me. Occasionally shopping lists and notes from parents’ evenings find their way in too! The sketchbooks are a fairly accurate reflection of where I’ve been and the intensity of my artistic endeavours.

My daughters draw in my sketchbooks if they’re with me.

Aberdaron 2

Aberdaron 2

The Moleskine Japanese album with the concertina fold is my favourite, as it enables me to unfold pages into a long landscape format if required.

Although they’re expensive, I enjoy the quality paper surface which works well with the fine-liner pens I use.

 

From the High Chair

From the High Chair

Colour doesn’t feature much. I carry a water-based grey pen for adding tone, though I am more concerned with angles, perspective, lines and composition.

I often use my sketchbook to re-sketch before or even during the painting process, juxtaposing shapes and rearranging the composition in order to achieve more tension in the painting.”


Profile of the artist

Borth

Borth

Pete Monaghan SGFA studied fine art at Aberystwyth School of Art. He has exhibited at the Affordable Art Fair in London and in the open exhibitions of the Royal West of England Academy and the Royal Institute of Painters in Watercolour. In 2013 Pete won the inaugural Jackie Devereux Sketch Award for his drawing Ganszuernen at DRAW 13, the 92nd Annual Open Exhibition of the Society of Graphic Fine Art.

Aberdaron

Aberdaron

Pete’s artwork responds to the Welsh environment, especially vernacular architecture, as manifestations of history in the world we see today. He is currently working on an Arts Wales-funded project to document the decline of rural filling stations in mid-Wales. These service stations are an important part of Welsh social history — many of them having evolved from the village blacksmith’s forge — and have served not only as vital staging posts and places for vehicle repair, but also as meeting points, local landmarks and village shops.  For more about the project please visit the blog here http://rustyfillingstations.wordpress.com

Pete begins by sketching on site. Through re-sketching many times he aims to interpret and understand his subject, freely splashing and pouring paint, edging towards abstraction. His paintings aim to embrace the transformative processes of looking/seeing and making  art. For more about Pete and his art, please visit his web site at www.petemonaghan.com

 

About Cynthia Barlow Marrs SGFA

Artist. Editor, The Journal -- The blog of the Society of Graphic Fine Art - The Drawing Society
This entry was posted in The Sketchbook Series, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Sketchbook Series – The vernacular architecture of Wales by Pete Monaghan SGFA

  1. Bob Ballard says:

    Hi Pete, you are absolutely right about the superiority of sketching to photographs – every line of yours reflects the experience of landscape, not simply what a scene might look like – an encouragement to us all.

Leave a Reply

