Image of the Month – Willow Herb, Chailey Common by Karen Munck SGFA

Karen Munck SGFA Willow Herb, Chailey Common

This picture, ‘Willow Herb, Chailey Common’ is one of many I have painted and drawn out and about in Sussex. I go out to paint and draw once a week with friends in the Summer to different, interesting venues. We tend to go whatever the weather since it is alway so lovely sitting painting outside in the countryside.

I use mainly gouache, ink and neo-colour wax pastels, partly because they are very portable but also because they give me the bright colours I love to use in my work. ‘Willow Herb’ is a combination of ink base with wax crayon drawing on top.

My working background is in design but I had a very wide academic art education including ceramics, theatre design and printmaking.

I have exhibited with the SGFA for some years now and I am pleased that they have been happy to accept my more unconventional approach to drawing.

Karen Munck SGFA

http://www.karenmunck.com/

Editors comments: We loved Karen’s image so much that it was chosen as the feature image for DRAW 12, our Annual Open Exhibition which starts on 1st October at the Menier Gallery, 51 Southwark Street, London SE1 1RU, and runs until 13th October. See our website for full details of opening times.

About thesocietyofgraphicfineart

The Society of Graphic Fine Art
This entry was posted in Image of the Month and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

