The Sketchbook Series – A Head Full of Images by Harriet Brigdale SGFA

Sketchbook Series - Harriet Brigdale SGFA 4

“When I sketch, I just draw.”

“My head is full of images. I draw things I see, but most of all I draw memories of trees, buildings and other things. But a lot of the time I draw images that rattle around in my imagination.

Sketchbook Series - Harriet Brigdale SGFA 1“The images of these strange buildings in the landscape must exist somewhere — at least, they do for me.

Sketchbook Series - Harriet Brigdale SGFA 3

“For my sketches I use the Art Pen by Rotring, sticks and lavender stalks as well as pencils. Sometimes these drawings lead on to prints, paintings or three dimensional works, sometimes in fabric paper, sometimes in paint and other mediSketchbook Series - Harriet Brigdale SGFA 2a.

“I work in etching,watercolour, oils and pastels as well as stained glass and textiles. I’m inspired by the countryside of southeast England where I live and work. And I’m a great admirer of Wassily Kandinsky, Paul Klee, Franz Marc, August Macke, Georgia O’Keeffe, Milton Avery, Andrew Wyeth, Gerhardt Richter, the Canadian artist and writer Emily Carr, and many more.”


Harriet Brigdale SGFA was born in Holland and moved to London to attend the Chelsea School of Art and the London College of Printmaking. Harriet teaches art and exhibits internationally, and is a member of the Society’s governing council. For more about Harriet visit her web site at www.brigdale.com

About Cynthia Barlow Marrs SGFA

Artist: I draw. Land planner: I was. Urban Sketcher: I am. SocietyofGraphicFineArt - The Drawing Society: I belong.
This entry was posted in The Sketchbook Series, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Sketchbook Series – A Head Full of Images by Harriet Brigdale SGFA

  1. ANNIE RIDD says:

    I love these Harriet! Thanks for sharing them.
    Annie Ridd

Leave a Reply

