Artist’s Proof – Light and dark in Northumbria by Chris Knox ASGFA

“My early artistic influences include the landscape artists John Constable, Thomas Girtin and J M W Turner, and later the fine art photographers Edward Steichen and Alfred Steiglitz.

 

Lindisfarne Graphite drawing

Lindisfarne
Graphite drawing 40 x 60 cm

I am a landscape artist working from my studio in Lewes, East Sussex. My work includes graphite drawings and etchings which start with sketches made on location in my native Northumberland and my home county of Sussex. My art is heavily influenced by my childhood on the wild Northumbrian coast, where the weather and light can change within a fleeting moment.

Chanctonbury Rain Photopolymer etching

Chanctonbury Rain
Photopolymer etching

I try to capture as much atmosphere as I can. This could include a distant thunderstorm, a burst of sunlight or the moment when light begins to fade. From my early sketches I complete my finished drawings back at the studio, and then decide which ones I’ll use to create etching plates.

Bamburgh Photopolymer etching

Bamburgh
Photopolymer etching

The finished drawing is scanned digitally and outputted as a transparency, which is etched with UV light onto polymer-backed steel plates. The plate is developed in water and dried, and then, as in all intaglio printmaking, the plate is inked and wiped and run through an etching press with dampened hand made paper to produce a print edition.”

South Downs Photopolymer etching

South Downs
Photopolymer etching

 



Profile of the Artist

Chris Knox ASGFA set up his studio in 2011 and was elected an Associate Member of the Society of Graphic Fine Art in 2013. His photopolymer etching South Downs was shown at the 2013 Royal Academy Summer Exhibition. Chris has also exhibited with the Society of Graphic Fine Art at the Menier Gallery, and with the Royal Society of British Artists (2012, 2013 and 2014) and the Pastel Society (2013 and 2014) at the Mall Galleries in London.

Chris will stage his first solo exhibition, “Stormlight”, from 18th t0 26th October 2014 at The Hop Gallery in Lewes, East Sussex BN7 1YJ.

For more about Chris and his art, please visit his web site www.chrisknox.org.uk

The Hop Gallery www.hopgallery.com

About Cynthia Barlow Marrs SGFA

Artist: I draw. Land planner: I was. Urban Sketcher: I am. SocietyofGraphicFineArt - The Drawing Society: I belong.
This entry was posted in Artist's Proof, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

