Image of the Month: Mallows Blossom by Venetia Norris SGFA

Venetia Norris, "Mallows Blossom", collage and mixed media on paper, 87x67c,m, 2015

Venetia Norris, “Mallows Blossom”, collage and mixed media on paper, 87x67c,m, 2015

I enjoy the spontaneity of drawing from life and communicating a sense of place.  I only feel that I have fully understood something if I have drawn it.  I love the sound of a pencil leaving a mark, varying its pressure, looking carefully at what I am drawing while the work evolves upon the paper.  I use a variety of materials including graphite, pen & ink, paint, charcoal gold/silver leaf upon paper and board.

Through my work I try to understand and express the journey of how a plant or flower grows.  Everything living has an individual shape and form, everything makes it’s presence felt in some way, leaves a mark, some trace.  Using just the tip of my pencil, graphite and ink I try to reveal the intricate layers, the sensuous interiors, the infinite variety and texture of a leaf, a stem, or a petal.  My enthusiasm and curiosity of the plant world continues to be a lifelong passion.

I am currently working on a series of drawings inspired by New Covent Garden Flower Market.  I plan to exhibit these during Wandsworth Artist Open House in October 2016.  The Flower Market is on the move with a huge regeneration project underway.  The US embassy is moving to Vauxhaull and again, for the second time the Flower Market is being transplanted.  I used to see the Flower Market as a landscape of flowers in constant flux within a solid building.  However, I now view the flowers as the permanent structures that link the past with the present within a changing landscape.  My drawings include architectural details, flowers and graphite rubbings made on site.

 


Profile of the Artist: Venetia Norris SGFA

Venetia studied at Chelsea School of Art, London College of Fashion and Sir John Cass Art School and has been a professional artist for the last seven years.  Her artwork has been shown at the Affordable Art Fair, Christies London and included in several group exhibitions at the Mall Galleries London.  The most recent of Venetia’s five solo shows was  at North London Collegiate School.  Venetia Norris completed a Fellowship with Ballinglen Arts Foundation, County Mayo, Ireland in March 2016 and has been awarded a place on the EU funded London Creative Network Program.

www.venetianorris.com

 

 

This entry was posted in Image of the Month and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Image of the Month: Mallows Blossom by Venetia Norris SGFA

  1. Lovely article, i wish there was more, she is such an interesting artist, and her work is just so beautiful.

Leave a Reply

